The Ten Precepts of Monijiao

The traditional Ten Precepts of Monijiao not only elaborate upon but also embody the traditional Five Precepts of both Buddhism and Daoism.

The First Precept: Worship God and do not commit yourself to the worshiping of idols; not bowing down to physical objects, ideals or delusions in order to worship them.

The Second Precept: Do not be dishonest in your ways.

The Third Precept: Do not be greedy.

The Fourth Precept: Do not murder a man, a woman or a child, neither abort an infant; neither commit to unnecessary killing of any life including animals and plants.

The Fifth Precept: Do not be unfaithful to your spouse, or commit any form of sexual misconduct.

The Sixth Precept: Do not commit theft.

The Seventh Precept: Do not deceive someone in order to mislead them.

The Eighth Precept: Do not practice magic.

The Ninth Precept: Do not commit hypocrisy in your ways.

The Tenth Precept: Seek peace and be fair to all regardless of a person’s ethnicity, color, nationality, religious beliefs, or sexuality.

Comments are closed.